a girl named disillusionment
5:03 p.m. | 2005-12-31
2005

2005 was.. the best year of my life, I am sure. In good and bad ways.

Eighth grade was a pretty bad time for me, and that was from January to May. So that wasn't exactly the best time of my life, but I tried to be happy. And though I didn't always succeed, at least I put in some effort. I wanted to be happy.

Then summertime, which was even more mood swingy than ever. I remember the family vacation to Tennessee, and constantly being thrust in the presence of my family, and going CRAZY that week. It was just.. hard to spend so much time with people you are used to staying away from.

And then.. freshman year. It's pretty odd, that I've ended up happier than I've been since fifth grade. I've made some new friends, I've kept some of the old, I got rid of some of the sucky ones I always wanted to avoid in middle school but never could. I found I didn't DESPISE high school for it simply being a drama magnet - you just have to avoid that.

I've found crushes, and potential for more, and who knows where that will go?

Right now I'm right where I want to be. I'm no longer that antisocial loser I was in middle school. I do things sometimes, surprisingly. But I still have nearly unlimited ME time, time to get away from friends and family and schoolwork and STRESS. It's balanced and calming and lovely.

All I know is I'm looking forward to 2006 - whatever is thrown in my way.

Now I'm off for a New Years Eve sleepover with one of my best friends, to go see The Producers, and celebrate the end of 2005.

Finally.

before | old | after